Coverage of medicine and pharmacy expenses

Third-party payer or third-party guarantor?

There are two systems for the reimbursement of pharmacy costs: the third-party guarantor system and the third-party payer system.

The third-party guarantor system is the default system provided by the Federal Law on Health Insurance (LAMal/KVG): the insured person pays for his or her medication at the pharmacy and is reimbursed by the health insurance once the annual deductible has been reached.

Within the third-party payer system, the health insurance company receives medication invoices directly and pays them. The policyholder then pays the deductible and his or her share of the costs.

The health insurance company of Groupe Mutuel Supra-1846 SA operates on the principle of a third-party guarantor. The other member health insurers of Groupe Mutuel operate according to the third-party payer system.

Drugs covered by basic health insurance

The drugs covered by compulsory health insurance are listed on the specialty drugs list (LS/SL) and the list of medicines with tariff (LMT/ALT).

  • The specialty drugs list is compiled and maintained by the Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH). It lists the drugs authorised by swissmedic that are effective, appropriate and economical. The list is available here: specialty drugs list (LS/SL).
  • The list of medicines with tariff (LMT/ALT) lists the products and active components used in pharmaceutical preparations manufactured by pharmacists.

Basic health insurance covers only the drugs that are on the LS/SL or LMT/ALT lists and have been prescribed by a doctor.

Drugs not covered by health insurance

Drugs on the list of pharmaceutical products for special application (LPPA/LPPV) are not reimbursed by compulsory health insurance or by a supplemental insurance plan. The LPPA/LPPV list is available here: List of pharmaceutical products for special application (LPPA/LPPV).

Please note that some products or groups of products are not listed by name in the LPPA/LPPV list. This concerns mainly products that serve to improve general well-being such as food supplements, cosmetics, dietary products, etc.

“Non-reimbursable” drugs: covered by supplemental insurance

“Non-reimbursable” drugs are preparations that are authorised for sale in Switzerland by swissmedic, but are not listed in the LS/SL or LPPA/LPPV lists. These drugs can be reimbursed by a supplemental insurance plan upon medical prescription only.
Discover our supplemental insurance plans that cover drugs not reimbursed under basic health insurance and prescribed by your doctor.

Groupe Mutuel

Rue des Cèdres 5 Case postale, 1919 Martigny    |    +41 0848.803.111

Meine Kosten für Medikamente und Apotheken decken

Tiers garant oder Tiers payant?

Für die Rückerstattung von Apothekenkosten gibt es zwei Systeme: «Tiers garant» und «Tiers payant».

Das System «Tiers garant» ist standardmässig vom Krankenversicherungsgesetz (KVG) vorgesehen. Der Versicherte bezahlt seine Medikamente in der Apotheke selbst und lässt sie sich nach der Erreichung der jährlichen Franchise von seinem Krankenversicherer erstatten.

Beim System «Tiers payant» werden die Medikamentenrechnungen direkt an den Krankenversicherer geschickt und von diesem beglichen. Der Versicherte bezahlt anschliessend seine Franchise und seine Kostenbeteiligung.

Die Krankenkasse Supra-1846 SA, die Mitglied der Groupe Mutuel ist, arbeitet nach dem Prinzip des «Tiers garant». Die anderen Krankenkassen, die zur Groupe Mutuel gehören, basieren auf dem System «Tiers payant».

Von der Grundversicherung gedeckte Medikamente

Die Medikamente, die von der obligatorischen Krankenpflegeversicherung rückerstattet werden, sind auf der Spezialitätenliste (SL) und der Arzneimittelliste mit Tarif (ALT) aufgeführt.

  • Die SL wird vom Bundesamt für Gesundheit (BAG) erstellt und aktualisiert. Sie umfasst die von Swissmedic zugelassenen Medikamente, die wirksam, zweckmässig und wirtschaftlich sind. Die SL finden Sie hier: Spezialitätenliste (SL).
  • Die ALT enthält Produkte und aktive Substanzen, die für in Apotheken hergestellte Magistralrezepturen verwendet werden.

Die Grundversicherung erstattet nur die Medikamente, die auf der Spezialitätenliste (SL) und der Arzneimittelliste mit Tarif (ALT) aufgeführt sind und von einem Arzt verschrieben wurden.

Medikamente, die nicht von der Krankenversicherung gedeckt sind

Produkte, die auf der Liste pharmazeutischer Präparate mit spezieller Verwendung (LPPV) aufgeführt sind, werden weder von der obligatorischen Krankenpflegeversicherung noch von den Zusatzversicherungen übernommen. Die LPPV finden Sie hier: Liste pharmazeutischer Präparate mit spezieller Verwendung (LPPV).

Vorsicht, einige Produkte oder Produktgruppen sind nicht namentlich auf der LPPV aufgeführt. Dabei handelt es sich um Produkte zur Verbesserung des allgemeinen Wohlbefindens wie Nahrungsergänzungsmittel, Kosmetika, Diätprodukte usw.

Nicht kassenpflichtige Medikamente

Nicht kassenpflichtige Medikamente sind zwar von der Swissmedic zum Verkauf in der Schweiz zugelassen, sind aber weder auf der SL noch auf der LPPV aufgeführt. Sie werden ausschliesslich über eine Zusatzversicherung rückerstattet, wenn sie von einem Arzt verschrieben wurden.

Entdecken Sie unsere Zusatzversicherungen, die Medikamente übernehmen, welche von einem Arzt verschrieben wurden aber von der Grundversicherung nicht rückerstattet werden.

Groupe Mutuel

Rue des Cèdres 5 Case postale, 1919 Martigny    |    +41 0848.803.111