Frequently asked questions

Answers to the most frequently asked questions on occupational pension (LPP/BVG).

Occupational Pension (LPP/BVG)

Anyone receiving, from the same employer, an annual salary greater than the access threshold must be insured through the LPP/BVG. Insurance covering the risks of death and disability starts on 1 January following your 17th birthday. Savings for retirement start on 1 January following your 24th birthday.

The limit amounts applicable to the minimum cover through the LPP/BVG scheme are available in the document containing key figures on pension cover.

The employer has to pay a contribution at least equal to the contribution of its employee. Generally, the insured party pays 50% of the premium and the employer pays the other 50%.

An increase/decrease in salary during the year takes effect immediately or retrospectively if the change is announced subsequently. An increase/decrease in contribution can occur on 1 January of the current year without your salary having changed. Such an increase/decrease may be due to:

  • the retirement assets’ rate having changed on 1 January depending on your age category
  • a change having taken place in the occupational pension plan that is binding between the pension fund and your employer
  • The pension fund having changed its pricing policy for the risks of disability and death

You are probably not yet 25. So far, you have only been insured for the risk of death and disability. Your contributions to your retirement assets will start on 1 January following your 24th birthday.

If you do not know where to find your LPP/BVG pension assets, contact the Centre for the 2nd pillar which is the body competent for providing information on forgotten LPP/BVG assets. It is also possible that when you left your previous pension fund, you received a form for transferring your vested benefits, but that you did not fill it in or send it. Six months after you leave a pension fund, your benefits, i.e. your entitlements, are transferred to the Fondation Institution Supplétive LPP/BVG or ‘substitute occupational benefit institution’ in Zürich, which handles assets for people who have not given instructions about them.

The Swiss Federal Law on vested benefits requires your full termination benefits to be transferred to your new pension provider. In order to enable us to transfer your assets, you should let us have the full details of your new pension fund/institution by using the Vested Benefits form. You should then send the transfer details given by our fund to your former employer's pension institution (or “vested benefits” fund). As soon as the vested benefits are received, they are incorporated into your account and a new pension certificate is sent to you.

There are two different situations if you do not have a new job:

  • If you have not reached retirement age (58 at the earliest), your termination benefits may be paid to you only for pension purposes. You must therefore pay your benefits into a vested benefits account, or into a vested benefits policy. If you are unemployed when you leave the pension fund, and if you receive unemployment benefit from the unemployment benefit provider, you will be insured with the Fondation Institution Supplétive LPP/BVG or “substitute occupational benefit institution” during this period. However, this insurance covers only the risks of disability and death, and not your retirement pension proper. You should therefore open a vested benefits account. In order to enable us to transfer your assets, you should give us the full details of your new pension fund/institution by using the Vested Benefits form. Further information about occupational pension coverage for unemployed people is available on the website www.espace-emploi.ch.
  • If you have reached the age of 58 at the time you leave the pension provider, and if you are declared as an unemployed jobseeker, it is compulsory to transfer the termination benefits to a vested benefits fund. Conversely, if you are not declared as unemployed, you are entitled to retirement pension benefits. In order to enable us to transfer your assets, you give us the full details of your new pension fund/institution by using the Vested Benefits form. In the event that you are taking early retirement, please contact us so that we can give you the appropriate documents.

An insured person may demand payment in cash of their 2nd pillar assets if they demonstrate that they are leaving Switzerland permanently to settle abroad. Member countries of the EU/EFTA

  • if, in the State in question, it is compulsory for the person to comply with social insurance obligations for covering old age, death, and disability, payment in cash of the assets acquired under the LPP/BVG plan is not possible. However, a cash payout of the non-compulsory portion of the assets is permitted.
  • If, in the State in question, it is not compulsory for the person to comply with social insurance obligations for covering old age, death, and disability, payment in cash of the full termination benefits is possible. In this case, you should give us a certificate that is issued, on request, by the Fonds de garantie LPP/BVG or ‘LPP/BVG Guarantee Fund’ (www.sfbvg.ch) - Fonds de Garantie LPP/BVG - Case postale 1023 - 3000 Berne 14
Countries that are not members of the EU/EFTA A cash payout of the full termination benefits is possible.

Pursuant to Swiss Federal Law (Article 5a LFLP/FZG), you should supply the following documents to the fund:

  • the Vested Benefits form, regardless of your status
  • a certificate of residence for your new domicile
  • if you are a cross-border commuter, a certificate of cancellation of your cross-border commuter permit
  • if you are a foreign national, a certificate of cancellation of the residence permit
  • if you are a Swiss citizen, a residents registration certificate
as well as the following document(s), depending on your civil status:
  • if you are single, a recent civil status certificate
  • if you are divorced, a recent civil status certificate and a copy of the divorce judgment
  • if you are married, the officially legalised signature of your spouse (municipality, notary, Groupe Mutuel branch)
The termination benefits of a Swiss pension institution may not be transferred directly to a foreign pension system (except for in Liechtenstein).

Pursuant to Swiss Federal Law (Article 5b LFLP/FZG), the insured person may demand payment in cash of their termination benefits when they become self-employed, and when they are therefore no longer obliged to be insured through the LPP/BVG scheme.

The person must:
- supply to their pension institution the documentary evidence of them starting self-employment (renting of premises, purchase of equipment, certificate from the AVS (old-age and survivors pension insurance scheme), registration in the trade register, etc.)
- request the payout of their benefits during the year following the start of their self-employed activity as their main activity

The following document(s) should be enclosed with your request, depending on your civil status:

  • if you are single, a recent civil status certificate
  • if you are divorced, a recent civil status certificate and a copy of the divorce judgment
  • if you are married, the officially legalised signature of your spouse (municipality, notary, Groupe Mutuel branch)

Cash payouts are liable to a distinct flat tax on lump-sum benefits at the time of payment. If you are living abroad, we are obliged to withhold the tax at source. If Switzerland is bound by a double taxation agreement with the country in which you live, you may ask for it to be refunded to you.

You should declare the date of your (civil) wedding or of your (enforceable) divorce, and any change of name to the fund so that it can record your new personal data. For a divorce, sharing the LPP/BVG assets between the spouses relates to the assets acquired by each spouse for the duration of the marriage. The assets acquired before the marriage are not shared. The revision of sharing of occupational pensions (that came into force on 1st January 2017) makes provision for sharing when one of the spouses receives a disability pension or a retirement pension of the 2nd pillar. As regards your LPP/BVG assets, the fund has to make a calculation in order to determine the vested benefits acquired during your marriage. To that end, we will need to know the date of the (civil) wedding, and the date of filing of the petition for divorce with the court.

Non-married insured parties may authorise their non-married partners to benefit from the same survivor benefits as a spouse would have received on their death. Provided that:

  • the two partners live together similarly to being married, and have lived in a shared home without interruption for the five years immediately preceding the death of the insured party, or live together in a shared home and have at least one dependent child in common
  • the two partners are neither married, nor related (in accordance with Article 95 of the Swiss Civil Code)
  • the two partners are not registered in accordance with the Swiss Law on Registered Partnerships
  • the surviving partner does not receive a spouse's pension or a partner's pension from a previous marriage or from a previous partnership
  • the Declaration of partner's pension form, duly filled in, must have been given to the pension institution while the insured party is alive

Groupe Mutuel

Rue des Cèdres 5 Case postale, 1919 Martigny    |    +41 0848.803.111

Häufige Fragen

Unsere Antworten auf die häufigsten Fragen zur beruflichen Vorsorge (BVG).

Berufliche Vorsorge (BVG)

Jede Person ist obligatorisch nach BVG versichert, wenn sie bei einem Arbeitgeber einen Jahreslohn erhält, der über dem Grenzbetrag liegt. Die Versicherung für die Risiken Tod und Invalidität beginnt am 1. Januar nach Vollendung des 17. Altersjahres. Die Altersvorsorge beginnt am 1. Januar nach Vollendung des 24. Altersjahres. Die anwendbaren Grenzbeträge für die minimalen Deckungen nach BVG finden Sie im Dokument «Schlüsselkennzahlen Vorsorge».

Ihr Arbeitgeber muss mindestens die Hälfte der Beiträge bezahlen. Grundsätzlich bezahlen Sie 50% der Prämie und Ihr Arbeitgeber übernimmt die restlichen 50%.

Eine Erhöhung/Senkung Ihres Lohns während des Jahres wirkt sich unmittelbar auf die Beiträge aus bzw. rückwirkend, wenn die Änderung später gemeldet wird. Eine Erhöhung/Senkung der Beiträge kann am 1. Januar eintreten, auch wenn sich Ihr Lohn nicht geändert hat. Diese Änderung kann folgende Gründe haben: Diese Änderung kann folgende Gründe haben:

  • Der Zinssatz auf dem Sparguthaben hat am 1. Januar aufgrund Ihrer Altersklasse geändert.
  • Es wurde eine Anpassung im Bereich der beruflichen Vorsorge im Zusammenhang mit der Vorsorgestiftung Ihres Arbeitgebers vorgenommen.
  • Die Vorsorgestiftung hat die Tarifpolitik bezüglich der Risiken Invalidität und Tod angepasst.

Dann sind Sie wahrscheinlich jünger als 25 Jahre. Bisher waren Sie nur gegen die Risiken Tod und Invalidität versichert. Ihre Beiträge für die Altersvorsorge müssen Sie ab dem 1. Januar nach Ihrem 24. Geburtstag bezahlen.

Wenn Sie nicht wissen, wo sich Ihre BVG-Guthaben befinden, kontaktieren Sie die Zentralstelle 2. Säule, die Ihnen Informationen zu vergessenen Guthaben geben kann. Es kann auch sein, dass Sie beim Austritt aus Ihrer vorherigen Pensionskasse ein Formular für den Übertrag Ihrer Freizügigkeitsleistung erhalten, dieses aber nicht ausgefüllt haben. Nach Ablauf einer Frist von 6 Monaten ab Austrittsdatum wird Ihr Guthaben an die Stiftung Auffangeinrichtung BVG in Zürich überwiesen. Dort werden die Guthaben von Personen verwaltet, die dazu keine Angaben gemacht haben. 

Gemäss Bundesgesetz über die Freizügigkeit muss der Gesamtbetrag Ihrer Austrittsleistung an Ihre neue Pensionskasse überwiesen werden. Damit wir den Übertrag Ihres Guthabens machen können, müssen Sie uns die vollständigen Angaben Ihrer neuen Vorsorgeeinrichtung mit dem Formular Freizügigkeitsleistung mitteilen. Danach müssen Sie der Vorsorgeeinrichtung Ihres ehemaligen Arbeitgebers (oder der Freizügigkeitseinrichtung) die Angaben für den Übertrag schicken, die Sie von unserer Einrichtung erhalten. Nach Erhalt Ihrer Freizügigkeitsleistung wird diese Ihrem Vorsorgekonto gutgeschrieben und Sie erhalten einen neuen Vorsorgeausweis.

Es gibt zwei Möglichkeiten: Wenn Sie das Pensionsalter (mindestens 58 Jahre) noch nicht erreicht haben, kann Ihnen die Vorsorgeleistung nur zu Vorsorgezwecken ausgezahlt werden. Sie müssen Ihre Austrittsleistung daher auf ein Freizügigkeitskonto oder in eine Freizügigkeitspolice überweisen. Wenn Sie beim Austritt aus dem Unternehmen arbeitslos sind und Geld von der Arbeitslosenkasse erhalten, werden Sie während dieser Zeit bei der Stiftung Auffangeinrichtung BVG versichert. Die Versicherung deckt jedoch nur die Risiken Invalidität und Tod, aber keine Altersvorsorge. Sie müssen daher ein Freizügigkeitskonto eröffnen. Damit wir den Übertrag Ihres Guthabens machen können, müssen Sie uns die vollständigen Angaben Ihrer neuen Vorsorgeeinrichtung mit dem Formular Freizügigkeitsleistung mitteilen. Mehr Informationen zur beruflichen Vorsorge für arbeitslose Personen finden Sie auf der Website www.treffpunkt-arbeit.ch.Wenn Sie beim Austritt aus der Pensionskasse 58 Jahre oder älter sind und Sie als arbeitslos gemeldet sind, muss die Austrittsleistung auf ein Freizügigkeitskonto überwiesen werden. Wenn Sie nicht als arbeitslos gemeldet sind, haben Sie Anrecht auf eine Altersleistung. Damit wir Ihr Guthaben übertragen können, müssen Sie uns die vollständigen Angaben Ihrer neuen Vorsorgeeinrichtung mit dem Formular Freizügigkeitsleistung mitteilen. Bei der frühzeitigen Pensionierung bitten wir Sie, uns zu kontaktieren, damit wir Ihnen die nötigen Dokumente zustellen können.

Die versicherte Person kann die Barauszahlung ihres Guthabens der 2. Säule verlangen, wenn sie beweist, dass sie die Schweiz definitiv verlässt, um sich im Ausland niederzulassen. Die Bedingungen variieren je nach Bestimmungsland.
 

  • Wenn der Versicherte die Schweiz verlässt und sich in einem Mitgliedstaat der EU/EFTA niederlässt, in dem die Bürger verpflichtet sind, sich gegen die Risiken Alter, Tod und Invalidität zu versichern, kann das BVG-Guthaben nicht in bar bezogen werden. Die Barauszahlung des überobligatorischen Teils ist jedoch möglich.
  • Wenn der Versicherte die Schweiz verlässt und sich in einem Mitgliedstaat der EU/EFTA niederlässt, in dem die Bürger nicht verpflichtet sind, sich gegen die Risiken Alter, Tod und Invalidität zu versichern, kann die gesamte Austrittsleistung in bar bezogen werden. In diesem Fall benötigen wir eine Bestätigung, die Sie beim Sicherheitsfonds BVG anfordern können (www.sfbvg.ch).
    Sicherheitsfonds BVG
    Postfach 1023
    3000 Bern 14
  • Wenn der Versicherte die Schweiz verlässt und sich in einem Nicht-Mitgliedstaat der EU/EFTA niederlässt, ist die Barauszahlung der gesamten Austrittsleistung möglich.

Beim definitiven Wegzug ins Ausland müssen Sie der schweizerischen Vorsorgeeinrichtung gemäss Bundesgesetz (Artikel 5a FZG) folgende Dokumente zuschicken:

  • Das Formular Freizügigkeitsleistung, unabhängig von Ihrem Status
  • Eine Wohnsitzbestätigung des neuen Wohnortes
  • Grenzgänger: eine Bestätigung, dass die Bewilligung für Grenzgänger aufgehoben wurde
  • Ausländische Staatsangehörige: eine Bestätigung, dass die Aufenthaltsbewilligung aufgehoben wurde
  • Schweizer Staatsangehörige: eine Bestätigung der Einwohnerkontrolle
Sowie je nach Zivilstand die folgenden Dokumente:
  • Ledige: eine aktuelle Bescheinigung des Zivilstandes
  • Geschiedene: eine aktuelle Bescheinigung des Zivilstandes und eine Kopie des Scheidungsurteils
  • Verheiratete: Die beglaubigte Unterschrift des Ehepartners (Gemeinde, Notar, Schalter der Groupe Mutuel)
Die Austrittsleistung einer schweizerischen Vorsorgeeinrichtung kann nicht direkt in ein ausländisches Vorsorgesystem übertragen werden (mit Ausnahme von Liechtenstein).

Der Versicherte kann die Auszahlung seiner Austrittsleistung verlangen, wenn er sich selbstständig macht und somit nicht mehr obligatorisch nach BVG versichert ist (Artikel 5b FZG).

Er muss hierzu:
- seiner Vorsorgeeinrichtung Belege über die Aufnahme der selbstständigen Tätigkeit zustellen (Miete von Räumlichkeiten, Materialeinkauf, AHV-Bestätigung, Eintrag im Handelsregister etc.)
- die Anfrage im Jahr nach der Aufnahme der selbstständigen Haupttätigkeit einreichen

Je nach Zivilstand müssen folgende Dokumente beigelegt werden:

  • Ledige: eine aktuelle Bescheinigung des Zivilstandes
  • Geschiedene: eine aktuelle Bescheinigung des Zivilstandes und eine Kopie des Scheidungsurteils
  • Verheiratete: Die beglaubigte Unterschrift des Ehepartners (Gemeinde, Notar, Schalter der Groupe Mutuel)

Die Auszahlung unterliegt zum Zeitpunkt der Entrichtung der einmaligen und gesonderten Besteuerung von Kapitalleistungen. Wenn Sie im Ausland wohnen, müssen wir die Quellensteuer zurückbehalten. Wenn ein Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen zwischen der Schweiz und Ihrem Wohnsitzstaat besteht, haben Sie die Möglichkeit, die Rückerstattung zu verlangen.

Sie müssen der Einrichtung das Datum der Heirat (zivil) oder der Scheidung (Datum des Inkrafttretens) und Ihre allfällige Namensänderung mitteilen, damit Ihre neuen persönlichen Daten gespeichert werden können. Bei einer Scheidung wird das BVG-Guthaben, das die Eheleute während der Ehe angespart haben, geteilt. Die vor der Ehe angesparten Guthaben werden nicht geteilt. Nach der Gesetzesrevision betreffend Teilung der beruflichen Vorsorge (Inkrafttreten am 1. Januar 2017) wird eine Teilung dann vorgenommen, wenn ein Ehepartner eine Invaliden- oder Altersrente der 2. Säule erhält. Bezüglich Ihres BVG-Guthabens muss die Vorsorgeeinrichtung berechnen, welche Freizügigkeitsleistung während Ihrer Ehe angespart wurde. Dazu müssen wir das Datum der Heirat (zivil) und das Datum, an dem die Scheidung vor Gericht beantragt wurde, kennen.

Nicht verheiratete Versicherte haben die Möglichkeit, ihren ebenfalls nicht verheirateten Partner zu begünstigen, damit dieser bei Tod die gleichen Hinterlassenenleistungen erhält wie ein Ehepartner. Dies ist unter folgenden Bedingungen möglich:

  • Die beiden Partner führten während den fünf Jahren unmittelbar vor dem Tod des Versicherten eine ununterbrochene und eheähnliche Lebensgemeinschaft oder lebten im gleichen Haushalt mit mindestens einem unterhaltspflichtigen Kind.
  • Die Partner sind weder verheiratet noch miteinander verwandt (im Sinn von Artikel 95 des Zivilgesetzbuches).
  • Die Partner sind keine eingetragenen Partner im Sinn des Bundesgesetzes über die eingetragene Partnerschaft.
  • Der hinterlassene Partner bezieht keine Ehegatten- oder Partnerrente aus einer vorherigen Ehe oder Partnerschaft.
  • Das vollständig ausgefüllte Formular Erklärung Partnerrente muss bei der Vorsorgeeinrichtung eingereicht worden sein, als der Partner noch lebte.

Groupe Mutuel

Rue des Cèdres 5 Case postale, 1919 Martigny    |    +41 0848.803.111