Example of the reintegration of an operating theatre nurse

Reintegration of an operating theatre nurse having suffered a heart attack

Michel (fictional name), an operating theatre nurse who suffered a heart attack in the middle of the operating room, considered himself lucky. He was immediately attended to by his colleagues. Today, he has found a new job in the same clinic thanks to a successful rehabilitation programme, supported in this by a Groupe Mutuel case manager. Testimony.

In April 2012, Michel, a 57-year-old operating theatre nurse, collapsed in the operating room. Following the heart attack, he underwent angioplasty but was unable to return to work. After a rehabilitation period, he hoped that he would be able to take up his job again in the operating theatre of the clinic CIC Riviera in Clarens.

However, the doctor was adamant: Michel would not be allowed to return to work because of the strenuous and stressful nature of his job. This was a huge blow to someone with a 37-year career behind him... The help of a Groupe Mutuel case manager would prove decisive.

An efficient approach

“This kind of situation raises many questions", said Michel. "The appointment with the case manager, who came to see me at home, was perfect timing. Together, we reviewed my opportunities for returning to work".

Legal information, administrative steps, monitoring of the procedure, coordination with different stakeholders (company management, AI/IV services, insurer, etc.): this was the task of David Chenevard, case manager in Groupe Mutuel. “He shaped my professional future and was a facilitator, ensuring the link between different partners. I had never heard of case management before. Yet, I can assure you that this approach is efficient and very useful”. This goes well beyond the preconceived notion that case managers are merely inspectors in charge of sending the insured person back to work at all costs and as quickly as possible.

Preparing for returning to work

The company decided to keep its former operating theatre nurse, entrusting him with a new administrative task
, in quality control. Experience and knowledge of surgical procedures were useful for this conversion. The AI/IV disability insurance supported the return to work in terms of training in addition to providing financial support. Clearly, this employee would have preferred to spend the rest of his career in the operating room. But the important thing for him was to stay in touch with the working world and with his colleagues at the clinic.

Commitment of the parties

The case manager's commitment was beneficial for Michel, allowing him to get back onto his feet again. Nicolas Clément, CIC’s Finance Manager, shares this point of view, but says: “for this approach to be successful, the commitment and good will of all parties – the employee, the employer and the insurer. If these conditions are met, I can only recommend the case management approach”.

Groupe Mutuel

Rue des Cèdres 5 Case postale, 1919 Martigny    |    +41 0848.803.111

Exemple de réinsertion d’un infirmier-instrumentiste

Réinsertion d'un infirmier-instrumentiste victime d’un infarctus

Victime d’un infarctus en plein bloc opératoire, Michel (prénom fictif), infirmier-instrumentiste dit avoir eu de la chance. Il a été pris en charge très rapidement par ses collègues de la clinique. Et, aujourd’hui, il a retrouvé un travail dans le même établissement grâce à une reconversion professionnelle exemplaire soutenue par un Case Manager du Groupe Mutuel. Témoignage

Un jour d’avril 2012, Michel, 57 ans, instrumentiste, s’effondre en pleine salle d’opération. A la suite de cet infarctus, il subit une angioplastie et se trouve en incapacité de travail. Après la rééducation, son espoir est de réintégrer le bloc, à la clinique CIC Riviera basée à Clarens.

Mais le verdict médical est formel: interdiction de reprendre cette activité en raison de la pénibilité et du stress engendré par le job d’instrumentiste. Un coup de massue pour ce quinquagénaire qui a 37 années de métier derrière lui...C’est alors que l’appui du case manager de son assureur, le Groupe Mutuel, va se révéler décisif.

Démarche intelligente

«Dans cette situation, vous vous posez beaucoup de questions», explique Michel Boucharinc. «La prise de contact du case manager qui est venu me rencontrer au domicile tombait donc à pic. Ensemble, nous avons analysé les possibilités pour une reprise du travail».
Informations légales, démarches administratives, suivi de la procédure, coordination avec les différents intervenants (direction de l’entreprise, AI, assureur, etc.), telles ont été les tâches de David Chenevard, case manager du Groupe Mutuel. «Il a été l’organisateur de mon avenir professionnel et a joué un rôle de facilitateur, en assurant le lien entre les divers partenaires. Je n’avais jamais entendu parler de Case Management. Mais je peux témoigner qu’il s’agit d’une démarche intelligente et très utile». On est bien loin des préjugés qui font de ce professionnel un contrôleur ou un «flic» chargé de remettre coûte que coûte et au plus vite l’assuré au travail.

Préparer la reprise

L’entreprise a décidé de garder son ancien instrumentiste, en lui confiant une nouvelle tâche de type administratif
, dans le contrôle qualité. L’expérience et la connaissance des actes opératoires étaient utiles pour cette reconversion. La reprise de l’activité a été soutenue sur le plan de la formation par l’AI qui a également apporté un appui financier. Il est clair que cet employé aurait préféré finir sa carrière en salle d’opération. Mais l’important pour lui était de garder les contacts avec le monde du travail ainsi qu’avec ses collègues de la clinique.

Engagement des parties

L’engagement du case manager a été très positif pour Michel. Ce soutien lui a permis de remettre rapidement le pied à l’étrier. Le responsable des Finances de la clinique CIC, Nicolas Clément, partage ce point de vue, mais précise: «pour réussir dans cette démarche, il faut l’engagement et la bonne volonté des parties – l’employé, l’employeur et l’assureur. Si ces conditions sont remplies, je ne peux que recommander la démarche du case management».

Groupe Mutuel

Rue des Cèdres 5 Case postale, 1919 Martigny    |    +41 0848.803.111