Coverage of medicine and pharmacy expenses

Third-party payer or third-party guarantor?

There are two systems for the reimbursement of pharmacy costs: the third-party guarantor system and the third-party payer system.

The third-party guarantor system is the default system provided by the Federal Law on Health Insurance (LAMal/KVG): the insured person pays for his or her medication at the pharmacy and is reimbursed by the health insurance once the annual deductible has been reached.

Within the third-party payer system, the health insurance company receives medication invoices directly and pays them. The policyholder then pays the deductible and his or her share of the costs.

The health insurance company of Groupe Mutuel Supra-1846 SA operates on the principle of a third-party guarantor. The other member health insurers of Groupe Mutuel operate according to the third-party payer system.

Drugs covered by basic health insurance

The drugs covered by compulsory health insurance are listed on the specialty drugs list (LS/SL) and the list of medicines with tariff (LMT/ALT).

  • The specialty drugs list is compiled and maintained by the Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH). It lists the drugs authorised by swissmedic that are effective, appropriate and economical. The list is available here: specialty drugs list (LS/SL).
  • The list of medicines with tariff (LMT/ALT) lists the products and active components used in pharmaceutical preparations manufactured by pharmacists.

Basic health insurance covers only the drugs that are on the LS/SL or LMT/ALT lists and have been prescribed by a doctor.

Drugs not covered by health insurance

Drugs on the list of pharmaceutical products for special application (LPPA/LPPV) are not reimbursed by compulsory health insurance or by a supplemental insurance plan. The LPPA/LPPV list is available here: List of pharmaceutical products for special application (LPPA/LPPV).

Please note that some products or groups of products are not listed by name in the LPPA/LPPV list. This concerns mainly products that serve to improve general well-being such as food supplements, cosmetics, dietary products, etc.

“Non-reimbursable” drugs: covered by supplemental insurance

“Non-reimbursable” drugs are preparations that are authorised for sale in Switzerland by swissmedic, but are not listed in the LS/SL or LPPA/LPPV lists. These drugs can be reimbursed by a supplemental insurance plan upon medical prescription only.
Discover our supplemental insurance plans that cover drugs not reimbursed under basic health insurance and prescribed by your doctor.

Groupe Mutuel

Rue des Cèdres 5 Case postale, 1919 Martigny    |    +41 0848.803.111

Couvrir mes frais de médicaments et de pharmacie

Tiers payant ou tiers garant?

Il existe deux systèmes de remboursement des frais de pharmacie: le système du tiers garant et celui du tiers payant.

Le système du tiers garant est le système prévu par défaut par la loi sur l’assurance-maladie (LAMal): l’assuré paie lui-même ses médicaments à la pharmacie et se fait rembourser par son assureur-maladie, une fois la franchise annuelle atteinte.

Avec le système du tiers payant, la caisse-maladie reçoit directement et paie les factures de médicaments. L’assuré s’acquitte ensuite de la franchise et de sa participation aux coûts.

La caisse-maladie du Groupe Mutuel Supra-1846 SA fonctionne selon le principe du tiers garant. Les autres caisses-maladie membres du Groupe Mutuel sont basées sur le système du tiers payant.

Médicaments couverts par l’assurance-maladie de base

Les médicaments remboursés par l’assurance obligatoire des soins figurent sur la liste des spécialités (LS) et ainsi que la liste des médicaments avec tarif (LMT).

  • La LS est établie et tenue à jour par l’Office fédéral de la santé publique (OFSP). Elle recense les médicaments autorisés par Swissmedic qui sont efficaces, appropriés et économiques. La LS est disponible ici: Liste des spécialités (LS).
  • La LMT énumère les produits et les substances actives employés pour les préparations magistrales fabriquées par les pharmaciens.

L’assurance-maladie de base ne rembourse que les médicaments qui appartiennent à la liste des spécialités (LS) et les médicaments de la liste des médicaments avec tarif (LMT) qui ont été prescrits par un médecin.

Médicaments non couverts par l’assurance-maladie

Les produits qui figurent dans la Liste des produits pharmaceutiques pour application spéciale (LPPA), ne sont remboursés ni par l’assurance obligatoire des soins, ni par les assurances complémentaires. La LPPA est disponible ici : Liste des produits pharmaceutiques pour application spéciale (LPPA).

Attention, certains produits ou groupe de produits ne sont pas énumérés nommément dans la LPPA. Ils s’agit de produits qui servent à augmenter le bien-être général comme des compléments alimentaires, cosmétiques, diététiques, etc...

Médicaments «hors-liste»: couverts par les assurances complémentaires

Les médicaments hors-liste sont quant à eux des préparations autorisées à la vente en Suisse par swissmédic, mais qui ne figurent ni dans la LS, ni dans la LPPA. Ils sont remboursés par le biais d’une assurance complémentaire uniquement s’ils ont été prescrits par un médecin.

Découvrez nos assurances complémentaires qui prennent en charge les médicaments non remboursés par l’assurance-maladie de base prescrits par votre médecin.

Groupe Mutuel

Rue des Cèdres 5 Case postale, 1919 Martigny    |    +41 0848.803.111