Frequently asked questions

Answers to the most frequently asked questions on occupational pension (LPP/BVG).

Occupational Pension (LPP/BVG)

Anyone receiving, from the same employer, an annual salary greater than the access threshold must be insured through the LPP/BVG. Insurance covering the risks of death and disability starts on 1 January following your 17th birthday. Savings for retirement start on 1 January following your 24th birthday.

The limit amounts applicable to the minimum cover through the LPP/BVG scheme are available in the document containing key figures on pension cover.

The employer has to pay a contribution at least equal to the contribution of its employee. Generally, the insured party pays 50% of the premium and the employer pays the other 50%.

An increase/decrease in salary during the year takes effect immediately or retrospectively if the change is announced subsequently. An increase/decrease in contribution can occur on 1 January of the current year without your salary having changed. Such an increase/decrease may be due to:

  • the retirement assets’ rate having changed on 1 January depending on your age category
  • a change having taken place in the occupational pension plan that is binding between the pension fund and your employer
  • The pension fund having changed its pricing policy for the risks of disability and death

You are probably not yet 25. So far, you have only been insured for the risk of death and disability. Your contributions to your retirement assets will start on 1 January following your 24th birthday.

If you do not know where to find your LPP/BVG pension assets, contact the Centre for the 2nd pillar which is the body competent for providing information on forgotten LPP/BVG assets. It is also possible that when you left your previous pension fund, you received a form for transferring your vested benefits, but that you did not fill it in or send it. Six months after you leave a pension fund, your benefits, i.e. your entitlements, are transferred to the Fondation Institution Supplétive LPP/BVG or ‘substitute occupational benefit institution’ in Zürich, which handles assets for people who have not given instructions about them.

The Swiss Federal Law on vested benefits requires your full termination benefits to be transferred to your new pension provider. In order to enable us to transfer your assets, you should let us have the full details of your new pension fund/institution by using the Vested Benefits form. You should then send the transfer details given by our fund to your former employer's pension institution (or “vested benefits” fund). As soon as the vested benefits are received, they are incorporated into your account and a new pension certificate is sent to you.

There are two different situations if you do not have a new job:

  • If you have not reached retirement age (58 at the earliest), your termination benefits may be paid to you only for pension purposes. You must therefore pay your benefits into a vested benefits account, or into a vested benefits policy. If you are unemployed when you leave the pension fund, and if you receive unemployment benefit from the unemployment benefit provider, you will be insured with the Fondation Institution Supplétive LPP/BVG or “substitute occupational benefit institution” during this period. However, this insurance covers only the risks of disability and death, and not your retirement pension proper. You should therefore open a vested benefits account. In order to enable us to transfer your assets, you should give us the full details of your new pension fund/institution by using the Vested Benefits form. Further information about occupational pension coverage for unemployed people is available on the website www.espace-emploi.ch.
  • If you have reached the age of 58 at the time you leave the pension provider, and if you are declared as an unemployed jobseeker, it is compulsory to transfer the termination benefits to a vested benefits fund. Conversely, if you are not declared as unemployed, you are entitled to retirement pension benefits. In order to enable us to transfer your assets, you give us the full details of your new pension fund/institution by using the Vested Benefits form. In the event that you are taking early retirement, please contact us so that we can give you the appropriate documents.

An insured person may demand payment in cash of their 2nd pillar assets if they demonstrate that they are leaving Switzerland permanently to settle abroad. Member countries of the EU/EFTA

  • if, in the State in question, it is compulsory for the person to comply with social insurance obligations for covering old age, death, and disability, payment in cash of the assets acquired under the LPP/BVG plan is not possible. However, a cash payout of the non-compulsory portion of the assets is permitted.
  • If, in the State in question, it is not compulsory for the person to comply with social insurance obligations for covering old age, death, and disability, payment in cash of the full termination benefits is possible. In this case, you should give us a certificate that is issued, on request, by the Fonds de garantie LPP/BVG or ‘LPP/BVG Guarantee Fund’ (www.sfbvg.ch) - Fonds de Garantie LPP/BVG - Case postale 1023 - 3000 Berne 14
Countries that are not members of the EU/EFTA A cash payout of the full termination benefits is possible.

Pursuant to Swiss Federal Law (Article 5a LFLP/FZG), you should supply the following documents to the fund:

  • the Vested Benefits form, regardless of your status
  • a certificate of residence for your new domicile
  • if you are a cross-border commuter, a certificate of cancellation of your cross-border commuter permit
  • if you are a foreign national, a certificate of cancellation of the residence permit
  • if you are a Swiss citizen, a residents registration certificate
as well as the following document(s), depending on your civil status:
  • if you are single, a recent civil status certificate
  • if you are divorced, a recent civil status certificate and a copy of the divorce judgment
  • if you are married, the officially legalised signature of your spouse (municipality, notary, Groupe Mutuel branch)
The termination benefits of a Swiss pension institution may not be transferred directly to a foreign pension system (except for in Liechtenstein).

Pursuant to Swiss Federal Law (Article 5b LFLP/FZG), the insured person may demand payment in cash of their termination benefits when they become self-employed, and when they are therefore no longer obliged to be insured through the LPP/BVG scheme.

The person must:
- supply to their pension institution the documentary evidence of them starting self-employment (renting of premises, purchase of equipment, certificate from the AVS (old-age and survivors pension insurance scheme), registration in the trade register, etc.)
- request the payout of their benefits during the year following the start of their self-employed activity as their main activity

The following document(s) should be enclosed with your request, depending on your civil status:

  • if you are single, a recent civil status certificate
  • if you are divorced, a recent civil status certificate and a copy of the divorce judgment
  • if you are married, the officially legalised signature of your spouse (municipality, notary, Groupe Mutuel branch)

Cash payouts are liable to a distinct flat tax on lump-sum benefits at the time of payment. If you are living abroad, we are obliged to withhold the tax at source. If Switzerland is bound by a double taxation agreement with the country in which you live, you may ask for it to be refunded to you.

You should declare the date of your (civil) wedding or of your (enforceable) divorce, and any change of name to the fund so that it can record your new personal data. For a divorce, sharing the LPP/BVG assets between the spouses relates to the assets acquired by each spouse for the duration of the marriage. The assets acquired before the marriage are not shared. The revision of sharing of occupational pensions (that came into force on 1st January 2017) makes provision for sharing when one of the spouses receives a disability pension or a retirement pension of the 2nd pillar. As regards your LPP/BVG assets, the fund has to make a calculation in order to determine the vested benefits acquired during your marriage. To that end, we will need to know the date of the (civil) wedding, and the date of filing of the petition for divorce with the court.

Non-married insured parties may authorise their non-married partners to benefit from the same survivor benefits as a spouse would have received on their death. Provided that:

  • the two partners live together similarly to being married, and have lived in a shared home without interruption for the five years immediately preceding the death of the insured party, or live together in a shared home and have at least one dependent child in common
  • the two partners are neither married, nor related (in accordance with Article 95 of the Swiss Civil Code)
  • the two partners are not registered in accordance with the Swiss Law on Registered Partnerships
  • the surviving partner does not receive a spouse's pension or a partner's pension from a previous marriage or from a previous partnership
  • the Declaration of partner's pension form, duly filled in, must have been given to the pension institution while the insured party is alive

Groupe Mutuel

Rue des Cèdres 5 Case postale, 1919 Martigny    |    +41 0848.803.111

Questions fréquentes

Les réponses aux questions les plus fréquentes concernant la prévoyance professionnelle (LPP).

Prévoyance professionnelle (LPP)

Toute personne qui reçoit d'un même employeur un salaire annuel supérieur au seuil d’accès doit obligatoirement être assurée à la LPP. L'assurance pour les risques décès et invalidité commence le 1er janvier de l’année des 18 ans. L'épargne pour la vieillesse commence le 1er janvier de l’année des 25 ans. Les montants–limites applicables aux couvertures minimales selon la LPP sont disponibles dans le  document Chiffres-clés de la prévoyance.

L’employeur est tenu de payer une cotisation au moins égale aux cotisations de ses employés. En général, l’assuré paie 50 % de la prime et l’employeur l’autre 50 %.

Une augmentation/diminution de salaire dans l’année prend effet immédiatement ou rétroactivement si le changement est annoncé ultérieurement. Une augmentation/diminution de la cotisation peut intervenir au 1er janvier de l’année sans pour autant que votre salaire ait changé. Cette modification peut être due au fait:

  • que le taux de bonification épargne ait changé au 1er janvier en fonction de votre catégorie d’âge
  • qu’une modification soit intervenue sur le plan de prévoyance professionnelle qui lie la fondation de prévoyance à votre employeur
  • que la fondation de prévoyance ait modifié sa politique tarifaire des risques invalidité et décès

Vous avez sûrement moins de 25 ans. Jusqu’à présent, vous étiez assuré uniquement pour les risques décès et invalidité. Vos cotisations pour les bonifications de vieillesse débutent le 1er janvier de l’année de vos 25 ans.

Si vous ne savez plus où se trouvent vos avoirs LPP, contactez la Centrale du 2e pilier (qui est l'organisme compétent pour fournir des informations sur les avoirs oubliés LPP). Il se peut aussi que lors de la sortie de votre dernière caisse de pensions, vous ayez reçu un formulaire pour le transfert de votre prestation de libre passage, sans y avoir donné suite. Après un délai de six mois à compter de la date de sortie, votre prestation est transférée à la Fondation institution supplétive LPP à Zürich, qui gère les avoirs des personnes n’ayant pas donné d’instruction à ce sujet.

La loi fédérale sur le libre passage prescrit que l’intégralité de votre prestation de sortie doit être transférée à votre nouvelle caisse de pensions. Afin de nous permettre d’effectuer le transfert de votre avoir, vous devez nous transmettre les coordonnées complètes de votre nouvelle fondation/institution de prévoyance à l’aide du formulaire Prestation de libre passage. Vous devez ensuite envoyer à l’institution de prévoyance de votre ancien employeur (ou fondation de libre passage) les coordonnées de transfert transmises par notre fondation. Dès réception de la prestation de libre passage, celle-ci est intégrée à votre compte et un nouveau certificat de prévoyance vous est adressé.

Deux cas se distinguent si vous n'avez pas de nouvel emploi:

  • Si vous n’avez pas encore atteint l’âge de la retraite (58 ans au plus tôt), votre prestation de sortie ne peut vous être versée qu’à des fins de prévoyance. Vous devez donc verser votre prestation sur un compte de libre passage ou une police de libre passage. Si vous deviez vous retrouver au chômage au moment de votre sortie et toucher des indemnités de la caisse de chômage, vous serez assuré auprès de la Fondation institution supplétive LPP durant cette phase. Toutefois, l’assurance ne couvre que les risques invalidité et décès, mais pas la prévoyance vieillesse proprement dite. Vous devez donc ouvrir un compte de libre passage. Afin de nous permettre d’effectuer le transfert de votre avoir, vous devez nous transmettre les coordonnées complètes de votre nouvelle institution à l’aide du formulaire Prestation de libre passage. De plus amples informations sur la prévoyance professionnelle des personnes au chômage sont disponibles sur le site www.espace-emploi.ch.
  • Si vous avez atteint l’âge de 58 ans au moment de votre sortie de la caisse de pensions, et que vous êtes déclaré comme chômeur à la recherche d’un emploi, la prestation de sortie doit obligatoirement être transférée à une fondation de libre passage. En revanche, si vous n’êtes pas déclaré comme chômeur, vous avez droit à une prestation de retraite. Afin de nous permettre d’effectuer le transfert de votre avoir, vous devez nous transmettre les coordonnées complètes de votre nouvelle fondation/institution de prévoyance à l’aide du formulaire Prestation de libre passage. Dans le cas d’une retraite anticipée, nous vous remercions de nous contacter afin que nous puissions vous faire parvenir les documents adéquats.

La personne assurée peut exiger le paiement en espèces de son avoir du 2e pilier, si elle démontre qu'elle quitte définitivement la Suisse pour s'établir à l'étranger. Cependant, les conditions diffèrent selon le pays de destination.
 

  • Si l’assuré quitte définitivement la Suisse, pour un pays membre de l’UE/AELE qui impose à ses citoyens de s’assurer contre les risques vieillesse, décès et invalidité, le versement en espèces de l'avoir acquis en vertu de la LPP n’est pas possible. Cependant, le versement en espèces du capital sur-obligatoire est admissible.
  • Si l’assuré quitte définitivement la Suisse, pour un pays membre de l’UE/AELE qui n’impose pas à ses citoyens de s’assurer contre les risques vieillesse, décès et invalidité, le versement en espèces de l’intégralité de la prestation de sortie est possible. Dans ce cas, vous devez nous remettre une attestation fournie, sur demande, par le Fonds de garantie LPP (www.sfbvg.ch)
    Fonds de Garantie LPP
    Case postale 1023
    3000 Berne 14
  • Si l’assuré quitte définitivement la Suisse, pour un pays non-membre de l’UE/AELE, le versement en espèces de l’intégralité de la prestation de sortie est possible.

Dans le cas d’un départ définitif à l’étranger, en vertu de la loi fédérale (Article 5a LFLP), vous devez fournir les documents suivants à la fondation:

  • le formulaire Prestation de libre passage, quel que soit votre statut
  • une attestation de résidence du nouveau domicile
  • frontalier: une attestation d'annulation du permis frontalier
  • ressortissant étranger: une attestation d'annulation du permis de séjour
  • citoyen suisse: une attestation du contrôle des habitants
ainsi que le/les document/s suivant/s selon votre état civil:
  • personne célibataire: un certificat d’état civil récent
  • personne divorcée: un certificat d’état civil récent et une copie du jugement de divorce
  • personne mariée: la signature officiellement légalisée du conjoint (commune, notaire, guichet du Groupe Mutuel)
La prestation de sortie d’une institution de prévoyance suisse ne peut pas être directement transférée à un système de prévoyance étranger (à l’exception du Liechtenstein).

En vertu de la loi fédérale (Article 5b LFLP), la personne assurée peut exiger le paiement en espèces de sa prestation de sortie lorsqu'elle se met à son compte et qu'elle n'est donc plus assurée obligatoirement à la LPP.

Elle doit impérativement:
- fournir à son institution de prévoyance des justificatifs sur le démarrage de l'activité indépendante (location de locaux, achat de matériel, attestation de l'AVS, inscription au registre du commerce, etc.)
- faire la demande dans l'année qui suit le début de l'activité indépendante à titre principal

Le/les document/s suivant/s doit/vent être joint/s à votre demande selon votre état civil:

  • personne célibataire: un certificat d’état civil récent
  • personne divorcée: un certificat d’état civil récent et une copie du jugement de divorce
  • personne mariée: la signature officiellement légalisée du conjoint (commune, notaire, guichet du Groupe Mutuel)

Le versement en espèces est assujetti à l’impôt unique et distinct sur les prestations en capital au moment du paiement. Si vous résidez à l'étranger, nous devrons retenir l’impôt à la source. Si la Suisse est liée par une convention de double imposition avec le pays dans lequel vous résidez, vous avez la possibilité de demander le remboursement.

Vous devez annoncer la date de votre mariage (civil) ou de votre divorce (exécutoire) et votre éventuel changement de nom à la fondation afin qu’elle enregistre vos nouvelles données personnelles. Dans le cas d'un divorce, le partage des avoirs LPP entre les époux porte sur les avoirs acquis par chaque époux pendant la durée du mariage. Les avoirs acquis avant le mariage ne sont pas partagés. La révision du partage de la prévoyance professionnelle (entrée en vigueur le 1e janvier 2017), prévoit un partage lorsqu'un des conjoints perçoit une rente d’invalidité ou une rente de vieillesse du 2e pilier. Concernant votre avoir LPP, la fondation doit effectuer un calcul afin de déterminer la prestation de libre passage acquise durant votre mariage. A cet effet, nous aurons besoin de connaître la date de mariage (civil) et la date du dépôt de la demande de divorce au tribunal.

Les assurés non mariés ont la possibilité d’autoriser leur partenaire, également non marié, à bénéficier des mêmes prestations pour survivants qu’un conjoint aurait reçues à leur décès. A condition que:

  • les deux partenaires forment une communauté de vie semblable au mariage et vivent en ménage commun sans interruption pendant les cinq années précédant immédiatement le décès de l’assuré, ou font ménage commun et ont au moins un enfant commun à charge
  • les deux partenaires ne sont ni mariés, ni apparentés (au sens de l’article 95 du Code Civil)
  • les deux partenaires ne sont pas enregistrés au sens de la Loi sur le Partenariat enregistré
  • le partenaire survivant ne reçoit pas de rente de conjoint ou de rente de partenaire d’un précédent mariage ou d’un partenariat antérieur
  • le formulaire Déclaration rente de partenaire dûment rempli doit avoir été remis à l’institution de prévoyance du vivant de l’assuré

Groupe Mutuel

Rue des Cèdres 5 Case postale, 1919 Martigny    |    +41 0848.803.111