FAQ – Most frequently asked questions

Our answers to the most frequently asked questions

You can find here the answers to our insured members’ most frequently asked questions.
Simply click on your subject of interest.

Federal taxes, environmental tax

The section of the insurance certificate called “Federal taxes” corresponds to the CO2 incentive tax on fossil fuels (e.g. heating oil and natural gas) and to the tax on volatile organic compounds (e.g. cleaning products for metals, paint and varnishes). These taxes are redistributed to the population in line with current legislation. This amount is CHF 88.80 per person for 2018.

The "contribution to health promotion", which is also included in the insurance certificate, partly finances the institution of disease prevention, which is managed by insurers and cantons. This contribution is required by the Federal Health Insurance Law (LAMal/KVG) and amounts to CHF 2.40 per person per year. This amount, i.e. CHF 0.20 per month, is deducted from the compulsory health insurance premiums.

When environmental taxes were introduced, the Swiss Parliament decided to redistribute the proceeds of environmental taxes to the population in equal shares, since they were not intended to be a new source of revenue for the State.

Redistribution is carried out by health insurers because only they can guarantee access to the entire population of our country.

Anyone who is subject to basic health insurance - or compulsory health insurance under the Swiss Federal Health Insurance Law (LAMal/KVG) and who is domiciled in Switzerland is entitled to this redistribution.
On the other hand, persons who are subject to the LAMal/KVG but who are not legally resident in Switzerland are not entitled to it.
Individuals who join LAMal/KVG during the year (foreign arrivals or newborns) are entitled to redistribution upon arrival in Switzerland or at birth.
The amount of the redistribution of the environmental tax is deducted from the monthly premium. If the insured person receives a subsidy that covers 100% of his premium, he receives a credit note.

Groupe Mutuel

Rue des Cèdres 5 Case postale, 1919 Martigny    |    +41 0848.803.111

Questions les plus fréquentes

Retrouvez ici les réponses aux questions les plus fréquentes de nos assurés.
Cliquez sur le sujet qui vous intéresse.

Taxes fédérales/environnementale

La rubrique du certificat d’assurance nommée «Taxes fédérales» correspond d’une part à la taxe d’incitation prélevée sur le CO2 appliquée aux combustibles fossiles (p. ex. huile de chauffage et le gaz naturel), et d’autre part à la taxe sur les composés organiques volatils (p. ex. produits de nettoyage des métaux, peintures et vernis). Ces taxes sont redistribuées à la population selon le souhait du législateur. Ce montant s’élève à Fr. 88.80 par personne pour 2018.

La «contribution à la promotion de la santé» qui figure également sur le certificat d’assurance finance partiellement l’institution de la prévention des maladies, qui est gérée par les assureurs et les cantons. Cette contribution est exigée par la loi sur l’assurance-maladie (LAMal) et se monte à Fr. 2.40 par personne et par année. Ce montant, soit Fr. 0.20 par mois, est prélevé sur les primes d’assurance obligatoire des soins.

Lors de l’introduction des taxes environnementales, le Parlement a décidé de redistribuer, à parts égales, les recettes des taxes environnementales à la population, dans la mesure où celles-ci ne devaient pas constituer une nouvelle source de revenu pour l’Etat.

La redistribution se fait par les assureurs-maladie car eux seuls peuvent garantir un accès à toute la population de notre pays.

Toute personne soumise à l’assurance-maladie de base – ou assurance obligatoire des soins AOS – selon la LAMal et domiciliée en Suisse a droit à cette redistribution.
En revanche, les personnes soumises à la LAMal mais qui ne sont pas domiciliées légalement en Suisse n’y ont pas droit.
Les personnes qui s’affilient à la LAMal en cours d’année (arrivées de l’étranger ou nouveau-nés) ont droit à la redistribution dès leur arrivée en Suisse ou dès la naissance.
Le montant de la redistribution de la taxe environnementale est déduit de la prime mensuelle. Si l’assuré bénéficie d’un subside qui couvre 100% de sa prime, il reçoit une note de crédit.